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Phase 2 Professional Services 
COVID-19 Requirements 

Professional services establishments must adopt a written procedure that is at least as strict as the 
requirements in this document and that complies with the appropriate Phase 2 safety and health 
requirements and guidelines established by the Washington State Department of Labor & Industries 
and the Washington State Department of Health. 

Prior to recommencing on-site services, all professional service providers and employer-owners 

are required to develop at each establishment, a comprehensive COVID-19 exposure control, 

mitigation, and recovery plan which must be adhered to. A site-specific COVID-19 monitor shall be 

designated at each location to monitor the health of individuals and enforce the COVID-19 job site 

safety plan. A copy of the plan must be available at all locations and available for inspection by state 

and local authorities. Failure to meet this requirement may result in sanctions up to, and including, 

license suspension.  

Covered Professions and Facilities 

A professional service provider is typically office-based and provides services to a client, such as 
accountants, architects, attorneys, engineers, financial advisors, information technologists, 
insurance agents, tax preparers, appraisers, home inspectors, and others. These employer-owners 
may contract with employee-service providers to provide these professional services. Providers 
must be able to comply with the following guidelines before re-opening, and the off-site guidance 
when working anywhere other than a professional services establishment.  

Safety and Health Requirements 

All employer-owners have a general obligation to maintain a safe and healthy workplace in 

accordance with state and federal law and safety and health rules for a variety of workplace 

hazards. In addition, they must comply with the following COVID-19 worksite-specific safety 

practices as outlined in Governor Jay Inslee’s “Safe Start” Proclamation 20-25.4, the Washington 

State Department of Labor & Industries General Requirements and Prevention Ideas for 

Workplaces, and the Washington State Department of Health Workplace and Employer Resources 

and Recommendations. All professional services establishments are required to post signage at the 

entrance to their business requiring their customers to use cloth face coverings. Employer-owners 

must specifically ensure operations follow the main L&I COVID-19 requirements to protect 

professional employee-service providers: 

• Educate professional employee-service providers in the language they understand best about 

coronavirus, how to prevent transmission, and the owner’s COVID-19 policies. 

• Maintain a minimum of six feet separation between professional employee-service providers 

and clients in all interactions. When strict physical distancing is not feasible for a specific task, 

other prevention measures are required such as the use of barriers, minimization of 

https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/20-25.4%20-%20COVID-19%20Safe%20Start.pdf
https://lni.wa.gov/forms-publications/F414-164-000.pdf
https://lni.wa.gov/forms-publications/F414-164-000.pdf
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Coronavirus/workplace
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Coronavirus/workplace
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employee-service providers or clients in narrow enclosed areas, limiting occupancy in waiting 

rooms, and staggered breaks and work shift starts. 

• Provide (at no cost to employees) and require the use of personal protective equipment 

(PPE), such as gloves, goggles, face shields and face masks as appropriate or required for the 

work activity being performed on the location unless their exposure dictates a higher level 

of protection under Department of Labor & Industries safety and health rules and 

guidance. Refer to Coronavirus Facial Covering and Mask Requirements . 

• Exceptions to this requirement for cloth face coverings include when working alone in 

an office, vehicle, or at a job site; if the individual is deaf or hard of hearing, and is 

communicating with someone who relies on language cues such as facial markers and 

expression and mouth movements as a part of communication; if the individual has a 

medical condition or disability that makes wearing a facial covering inappropriate; or 

when the job has no in-person interaction. Additional information on frequently asked 

questions for facial coverings can be found here. 

• Refer to Washington Coronavirus Hazard Considerations for Employers (except COVID-

19 care in hospitals & clinics) Face Coverings, Masks, and Respirator Choices for 

additional details. Cloth face coverings are described in the Department of Health 

guidance.  

• Ensure frequent and thorough hand washing with adequate maintenance of supplies. When 

using single use disposable gloves to prevent transmission on tools and items that are shared, 

discard after a single use. 

• Update the housekeeping schedule to include frequent cleaning and sanitizing with a 

particular emphasis on commonly touched surfaces. 

• Screen professional employee-service providers for signs/symptoms of COVID-19 at the start 

of each shift. Make sure sick professional employee-service providers stay home or 

immediately go home if they feel or appear sick. Cordon off any areas where an employee-

service provider with probable or confirmed COVID-19 illness worked, touched surfaces, etc., 

until the area and equipment is cleaned and disinfected. Follow the cleaning guidelines set by 

the CDC to clean and disinfect. 

• Follow specific association standards to maintain health standards for owners, employee-

service providers and clients, if applicable.  

Employee-service providers may refuse to perform unsafe work, including hazards created by 

COVID-19. It is unlawful for the employer-owner to take adverse action against an employee who 

has engaged in safety-protected activities under the law if their work refusal meets certain 

requirements. Information is available in these publications: Safety and Health Discrimination in the 

Workplace brochure and Spanish Safety and Health Discrimination brochure. 

Employees who choose to remove themselves from a location because they do not believe it is safe 

https://www.lni.wa.gov/agency/outreach/coronavirus-covid-19-worker-face-covering-and-mask-requirements-questions
https://www.lni.wa.gov/agency/_docs/wacoronavirushazardconsiderationsemployers.pdf
https://www.lni.wa.gov/agency/_docs/wacoronavirushazardconsiderationsemployers.pdf
https://www.lni.wa.gov/agency/outreach/coronavirus-covid-19-worker-face-covering-and-mask-requirements-questions
https://www.lni.wa.gov/agency/_docs/wacoronavirushazardconsiderationsemployers.pdf
https://www.lni.wa.gov/agency/_docs/wacoronavirushazardconsiderationsemployers.pdf
http://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/1600/coronavirus/ClothFacemasks.pdf
http://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/1600/coronavirus/ClothFacemasks.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/disinfecting-building-facility.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/disinfecting-building-facility.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/disinfecting-building-facility.html
https://lni.wa.gov/forms-publications/F417-244-000.pdf
https://lni.wa.gov/forms-publications/F417-244-000.pdf
https://lni.wa.gov/forms-publications/f417-244-999.pdf
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to work due to the risk of COVID-19 exposure, may have access to certain leave or unemployment 

benefits. Employer-owners must provide high-risk employees covered by Proclamation 20-46 with 

their choice of access to available employer-granted accrued leave or unemployment benefits if an 

alternative work arrangement is not feasible. Other employees may have access to use expanded 

family and medical leave included in the Families First Coronavirus Response unemployment 

benefits, or other paid time off depending on the circumstances. Additional information is available 

at Novel Coronavirus Outbreak (COVID-19) Resources and Paid Leave under the Washington Family 

Care Act and the Families First Coronavirus Response Act. 

All professional service provider employer-owners are required to comply with the following 

COVID-19 facility-specific safety practices to provide a safe back to work environment for 

themselves and clients: 

1. Arrange contactless or electronic scheduling, pay options, and services wherever possible.  

2. Keep occupancy at 50% or lower, with the exception of one to one service in an enclosed 

room. 

3. Develop at each location, a comprehensive COVID-19 exposure control, mitigation, and 

recovery plan. The plan must include policies regarding the following control measures: PPE 

utilization; on-location physical distancing; hygiene; sanitation; symptom monitoring; 

incident reporting; location disinfection procedures; COVID-19 safety training; exposure 

response procedures and a post-exposure incident project-wide recovery plan.   

4. Provide soap and running water at all business locations for frequent handwashing. 

Professional employee-service providers should be encouraged to leave their workstations to 

wash their hands regularly, before and after going to the bathroom, before and after eating, 

and after coughing, sneezing or blowing their nose.  Alcohol-based hand sanitizers that 

contain more than 60% ethanol or 70% isopropanol can also be used, but are not a 

replacement for the water requirement. Do NOT use methanol based sanitizers. 

5. Post required hygienic practices in areas visible to all workers, which include: 

o Not touching the face with unwashed hands or with gloves; 

o Washing hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds; 

o Using hand sanitizer with at least 60% ethanol alcohol or 70% isopropanol; 

o Cleaning and disinfecting frequently-touched objects and surfaces such as 

workstations, keyboards, telephones, handrails, machines, shared tools, elevator 

control buttons, doors and doorknobs; and 

o Covering the mouth and nose when coughing or sneezing as well as other hygienic 

recommendations by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control (CDC). 

6. Provide disinfectants to professional employee-service providers throughout the workplace, 

https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/20-46%20-%20COVID-19%20High%20Risk%20Employees.pdf
https://www.lni.wa.gov/agency/outreach/novel-coronavirus-outbreak-covid-19-resources
https://www.lni.wa.gov/agency/outreach/paid-leave-under-the-washington-family-care-act-and-the-families-first-coronavirus-response-act
https://www.lni.wa.gov/agency/outreach/paid-leave-under-the-washington-family-care-act-and-the-families-first-coronavirus-response-act
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and ensure cleaning supplies are frequently replenished. 

7. Clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces after each use, including reception areas, 

personal work stations, chairs, headrests and armrests, hand tools, other equipment, 

handrails, restrooms and breakrooms, and pens/pencils.  

8. Adhere to social distancing requirements as outlined in this document. Professional 

employee-service providers should maintain six feet of space between desks/stations or have 

physical barriers between them when in use.   

9. Increase ventilation rates where feasible. Evaluate ventilation and utilize U.V. filters with a 

higher MERV rating. 

10. Ensure that tissues and trash cans are placed throughout the business. 

11. Advise clients of new requirements when making professional service appointments: 

o Clients must self-screen for signs and symptoms of COVID-19 before arriving at the 

service provider location. 

o Clients must wear a cloth face covering when at the service provider location. 

o Clients should not bring other guests with them, unless they are bringing children who 

must be supervised.  

o Clients should advise professional employee-service providers via call, email, or text 

message that they have arrived at the location for the appointment, and are waiting for 

instructions to enter. 

12. Post a notice at the front door or window regarding access to the facility for walk-in 

appointments at professional service provider establishments. Employer-owners should 

include the phone number that the guest should call to determine availability of services. If 

service is available at the time, the walk-up guest will need to answer questions regarding 

COVID-19 exposure and current health, and put on a face covering before entering the 

location. 

13. For off-site services, professional employee-service providers and clients must wear the 

appropriate PPE and work one-on-one with clients. PPE should be disposed of or sanitized 

where appropriate per the guidance above, such as disposing of disposable gloves after 

providing service for a client. Professional employee-service providers must adhere to social 

distancing requirements, maintaining at least six feet of distance from individuals who may 

be present at the off-site location.    

COVID-19 Training  

14. Train all on-site professional employee-service providers on the worksite’s policies, the 
requirements in this document, and all COVID-19 appropriate safety-related requirements 
and guidance in the language they understand best.  
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Health/Symptoms for Professional Service Provider Employer-Owners and Professional Employee-

Service Providers 

15. Create a policy that requires professional employee-service providers to stay home or leave 
the worksite when feeling sick or when they have been in close contact with a confirmed 
positive case of COVID-19. If they develop symptoms of acute respiratory illness, they should 
seek medical attention and inform their employer. 

16. Screen all professional employee-service providers at the beginning of their day by asking 
them if they have a fever, cough, shortness of breath, fatigue, muscle aches or new loss of 
taste or smell. If a professional employee-service provider has a family member with COVID-
19, that individual must follow the isolation/quarantine requirements as established by the 
Department of Health. If a professional employee-service provider is confirmed to have 
COVID-19, employers or the individual should inform fellow workers of their possible 
exposure in the workplace, but maintain confidentiality as required by the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). The employer or individual should consult with the local health 
department and/or instruct fellow workers about how to proceed based on the CDC Public 
Health Recommendations for Community-Related Exposure.   

17. Instruct professional employee-service providers to report to their supervisor or employer if 
they develop symptoms of COVID-19 (e.g., fever, cough, shortness of breath, fatigue, muscle 
aches, or new loss of taste or smell). If symptoms develop during a shift, the worker should 
be immediately sent home. If symptoms develop while the professional employee-service 
provider is not working, they should not return to work until they have been evaluated by a 
healthcare provider.  

18. If a professional employee-service provider or client reports feeling sick and goes home, the 
area previously occupied by that person should be disinfected in accordance with CDC and 
Department of Health guidelines. 

All professional service provider employer-owners must meet and maintain all the requirements 

in this document, including providing materials, schedules and equipment required to comply.  

All issues regarding worker safety and health are subject to enforcement action under L&I’s 

Division of Occupational Safety and Health (DOSH). 

• Employers can request COVID-19 prevention advice and help from L&I’s Division of 
Occupational Safety and Health (DOSH). 

• Employee Workplace safety and health complaints may be submitted to the L&I DOSH Safety 
Call Center: (1-800-423-7233) or via e-mail to adag235@lni.wa.gov. 

• General questions about how to comply with the agreement practices can be submitted to 
the state’s Business Response Center at https://coronavirus.wa.gov/how-you-can-help/covid-
19-business-and-worker-inquiries. 

• All other violations related to Proclamation 20-25 can be submitted at https://bit.ly/covid-
compliance. 

https://lni.wa.gov/safety-health/preventing-injuries-illnesses/request-consultation/onsite-consultation
mailto:adag235@lni.wa.gov
https://coronavirus.wa.gov/how-you-can-help/covid-19-business-and-worker-inquiries
https://coronavirus.wa.gov/how-you-can-help/covid-19-business-and-worker-inquiries
https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/proclamations/20-25%20Coronovirus%20Stay%20Safe-Stay%20Healthy%20%28tmp%29%20%28002%29.pdf
https://bit.ly/covid-compliance
https://bit.ly/covid-compliance

