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Phase 1 Washington Talking Book and Braille Library 
COVID-19 Requirements 

 
Phase 1: The Washington Talking Book and Braille Library (WTBBL) is permitted to provide limited 
services to its customers by fulfilling book orders through the mail during Phase 1 of the Governor’s Safe 
Start Proclamation. In-person services are not permitted and the WTBBL should remain closed to the 
public.  
 
Safety and Health Requirements  
All organizations have a general obligation to keep a safe and healthy facility in accordance with state 
and federal law, and comply with the following COVID-19 organization-specific safety practices, as 
outlined in Governor Jay Inslee’s “Stay Home, Stay Healthy” Proclamation 20-25, the Governor’s “Safe 
Start” Proclamation 20-25.4, and in accordance with the Washington State Department of Labor & 
Industries General Requirements and Prevention Ideas for Workplaces and the Washington State 
Department of Health Workplace and Employer Resources & Recommendations at 
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Coronavirus/workplace.  
 
WTBBL must specifically ensure operations follow the main L&I COVID-19 requirements to protect 
employees and customers: 

• Educate all employees in the language in which they are most proficient about coronavirus, how 
to prevent transmission, and the owner’s COVID-19 policies. 

• Maintain minimum six-foot separation between all employees in all interactions and at all 
times. When strict physical distancing is not feasible for a specific task, other prevention 
measures are required, such as use of barriers, minimization of individuals in narrow, enclosed 
areas and waiting rooms, staggered breaks, and work shift starts. 

• Provide personal protective equipment (PPE) such as gloves and face masks as appropriate or 
required to employees for the activity being performed. Require employees to use PPE as 
appropriate or required for the activity being performed. Cloth facial coverings must be worn by 
every individual not alone at the location unless their exposure dictates a higher level of 
protection under Department of Labor & Industries safety and health rules and guidance. Refer 
to Coronavirus Facial Covering and Mask Requirements for additional details. A cloth facial 
covering is described in the Department of Health guidance, 
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/1600/coronavirus/ClothFacemasks.pdf.  

• Ensure frequent and adequate hand washing with adequate maintenance of supplies. Use single 
use disposable gloves, where safe and applicable, to prevent transmission on items that are 
touched frequently or shared and discard after a single use.  

• Establish a housekeeping schedule that includes frequent cleaning and sanitizing with a particular 
emphasis on commonly touched services. 

• Screen employees for signs/symptoms of COVID-19 at the start of every shift. Make sure sick 
employees stay home or immediately go home if they feel or appear sick. Cordon off any areas 
where an employee with probable or confirmed COVID-19 illness worked, touched surfaces, etc., 
until the area and equipment is cleaned and disinfected. Follow the cleaning guidelines set by the 
CDC to deep clean and disinfect.  

https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/20-25.4%20-%20COVID-19%20Safe%20Start.pdf
https://www.lni.wa.gov/forms-publications/f414-169-000.pdf
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Coronavirus/workplace
https://www.lni.wa.gov/agency/_docs/wacoronavirushazardconsiderationsemployers.pdf
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/1600/coronavirus/ClothFacemasks.pdf
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• Post a sign strongly encouraging customers to wear cloth facial coverings, and prominently 
display it at the entrance to the business so that it is immediately noticeable to all customers 
entering the store. Employers are encouraged to require customers to wear cloth facial 
coverings, in order to protect their employees. 

 
A location-specific COVID-19 Supervisor shall be designated by WTBBL to monitor the health of 
employees and enforce the COVID-19 safety plan.  
 
An employee may refuse to perform unsafe work, including hazards created by COVID-19. And, it is 
unlawful for the employer to take adverse action against an employee who has engaged in safety-
protected activities under the law if their work refusal meets certain requirements. 
 
Employees who choose to remove themselves from a worksite because they do not believe it is safe to 
work due to the risk of COVID-19 exposure may have access to certain leave or unemployment benefits. 
Employers must provide high-risk individuals covered by Proclamation 20-46 with their choice of access 
to available employer-granted accrued leave or unemployment benefits if an alternative work 
arrangement is not feasible. Other employees may have access to expanded family and medical leave 
included in the Families First Coronavirus Response Act, access to use unemployment benefits, or access 
to other paid time off depending on the circumstances. Additional information is available at 
https://www.lni.wa.gov/agency/outreach/paid-sick-leave-and-coronavirus-covid-19-common-questions. 
 
WTBBL is required to comply with the following COVID-19 organization-specific safety practices:  
 

1. Prior to reopening, WTBBL is required to develop a comprehensive COVID-19 exposure control, 
mitigation and recovery plan. The plan must include policies regarding the following control 
measures: PPE utilization; on-location physical distancing; hygiene; sanitation; symptom monitoring; 
incident reporting; location disinfection procedures; COVID-19 safety training; exposure response 
procedures and a post-exposure incident project-wide recovery plan. A copy of the plan must be 
available at the location for inspection by state and local authorities. Failure to meet planning 
requirements may result in sanctions, including the location being shut down.  

2. Indoor operations should be limited to those employees who are responsible for the tasks required 
to facilitate mail delivery. Employees should adhere to all social distancing, hygiene, and sanitation 
guidelines. 

3. COVID-19 safety information and requirements, such as CDC, DOH, OSHA posters shall be visibly 
posted at each location (indoor and outdoor). 

4. Authorized access to WTBBL should primarily be through the front door. Other access points should 
be kept closed. 

5. All employees shall wear facemasks before, during, and after their shift. 

6. Soap and running water shall be abundantly provided at locations for frequent handwashing. 
Employees should be encouraged to leave their workstations to wash their hands regularly, and 
required to do so before and after going to the bathroom, before and after eating and after 
coughing, sneezing or blowing their nose. Alcohol-based hand sanitizers with greater than 60% 
ethanol or 70% isopropanol should also be provided and used, but are not a replacement for the 
water requirement. 

https://www.lni.wa.gov/agency/outreach/paid-sick-leave-and-coronavirus-covid-19-common-questions
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7. Disinfectants must be available to employees throughout the facility and cleaning supplies should be 
frequently replenished. 

8. Clean and disinfect high-touch surfaces after each use—including personal work stations, mirrors, 
chairs, headrests and armrests, doorknobs, handrails, restrooms and breakrooms—using soapy 
water, followed by the appropriate disinfectants. If these areas cannot be cleaned and disinfected 
frequently, WTBBL shall be shut down until such measures can be achieved and maintained. 

9. Increase ventilation rates where feasible. Evaluate ventilation and utilize U.V. filters with a higher 
MERV rating. 

10. Ensure that tissues and trashcans are placed throughout the facility. 

11. Quarantine each returned item for a minimum of 24 hours before re-distributing; and 

12. Inform all employees that they must self-screen for signs and symptoms of COVID-19 before arriving 

at the location.  

• Request employees to take their temperature before attending a service. Any individual with a 
temperature of 100.4°F will not be permitted to attend the service or attend work at the 
organization.  

• Any individual with a household member who has been diagnosed with COVID-19 or with 
symptoms of COVID-19 (including a fever above 100.4°F) should not attend the service or 
attend work at the organization.   

 
General questions about how to comply with the agreement practices can be submitted to the state’s 
Business Response Center at https://coronavirus.wa.gov/how-you-can-help/covid-19-business-and-
worker-inquiries. 
 
All other violations related to Proclamation 20-25 can be submitted at https://bit.ly/covid-compliance. 

https://coronavirus.wa.gov/how-you-can-help/covid-19-business-and-worker-inquiries
https://coronavirus.wa.gov/how-you-can-help/covid-19-business-and-worker-inquiries
https://bit.ly/covid-compliance

