WorkFirst Poverty Reduction Oversight Task Force, Legislative-Executive

The Legislative-Executive WorkFirst Poverty Reduction Oversight Task Force (Poverty Reduction Task Force), was established by HB 1482 (2018 Legislative Session). As directed, the new Poverty Reduction Task Force will pick up the portfolio of the previous task force and include the topic of intergenerational poverty.

The task force serves as a platform for legislative and executive branches to oversee the operation of the WorkFirst and Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) programs, and determine evidence-based outcome measures for the WorkFirst program. The task force also develops and monitors strategies to prevent and address adverse childhood experiences and reduce intergenerational poverty. The task force serves as an advisory capacity to recommend policy actions to the governor and the legislature to effectively reduce intergenerational poverty and promote and encourage self-sufficiency.


See list of members

  • Voting Members
  • Rep. Michelle Caldier, (R) Washington State House of Representatives
  • Don Clintsman, Department of Social and Health Services (Executive Co-Chair)
  • Kelly Cooper, Department of Health
  • Sen. Manka Dhingra, (D) Washington State Senate
  • Sen. Perry Dozier, (R) Washington State Senate
  • Rep. Carolyn Eslick, (R) Washington State House of Representatives
  • Sen. Chris Gildon, (R) Washington State Senate
  • Rep. Mia Gregerson, (D) Washington State House of Representatives (Legislative Co-Chair)
  • Diane Klontz, Department of Commerce (Co-Chair Advisory)
  • Mark Kucza, Department of Corrections
  • Carli Schiffner, State Board for Community and Technical Colleges
  • Rep. Strom Peterson, (D) Washington State House of Representatives
  • Tim Probst, Employment Security Department (Co-Chair Advisory)
  • Nicole Rose, Department of Children Youth and Families
  • Vacant, (D) Washington State Senate
  • Vacant, Office of the Superintendent for Public Instruction
  • Non-Voting Members
  • Mystique Hurtado, Governor's Office Indian Affairs
  • Anna Minor, Office of Financial Management
  • Nam Nguyen, Asian Pacific Islander Commission
  • Ed Prince, Commission on African American Affairs
  • Maria Siguenza, Commission on Hispanic Affairs
  • David Stillman, Department of Social and Health Services (Co-Chair Advisory)
  • Staff
  • Jim Baumgart, Office of the Governor
  • Babs Roberts, Department of Social and Health Services

Upcoming Meetings

Previous Meetings

November 17, 2021

August 26, 2021

May 20, 2021

December 3, 2020

September 29, 2020

June 25, 2020

February 20, 2020

January 6, 2020

November 25, 2019

August 26, 2019

May 28, 2019

February 25, 2019

November 26, 2018

October 1, 2018