Justice Reinvestment Task Force

Following a request from Governor Inslee and a bipartisan group of state leaders, Washington was selected to participate in the Justice Reinvestment Initiative, a partnership between the U.S. Department of Justice and the Pew Charitable Trusts.

On June 24, 2014, Governor Inslee signed an executive order creating the inter-branch, bipartisan Justice Reinvestment Task Force. The task force will guide a comprehensive study of Washington’s criminal justice system to identify ways to address growing pressures on the prison system and increase public safety. The task force is comprised of 21 members covering the executive, legislative and judicial branches of government, as well as state and local criminal justice stakeholders.

Washington is already a national leader in innovative and effective criminal and juvenile justice policy. The Justice Reinvestment Task Force is part of Washington’s commitment to continuous improvement in state government. The task force will analyze current criminal justice trends in Washington and examine ways to reduce crime and recidivism, effectively leverage our public safety dollars and increase public safety in our communities.


See list of members

  • Nicholas Brown, Office of Governor Jay Inslee (co-chair)
  • Senator Jim Hargrove, Senate (co-chair)
  • Chief Justice Barbara Madsen, Supreme Court
  • Representative Eric Pettigrew, House of Representatives
  • Representative Brad Klippert, House of Representatives
  • Senate Majority Caucus designee
  • Chair of House Appropriations Committee or his designee
  • Chair of Senate Ways and Means Committee or his designee
  • Russ Hauge, Kitsap County Prosecuting Attorney
  • Kim Gordon, Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers and Washington Defenders Association
  • Chief Eric Olsen, Kirkland Police Chief
  • Steve Aos, Washington Institute for Public Policy
  • John Steiger, Caseload Forecast Council
  • Honorable Cathy Wolfe, Thurston County Commissioner
  • Dave Boerner, Chair, Sentencing Guidelines Commission
  • Bernard Warner, Secretary of the Department of Corrections
  • John Clayton, Department of Social and Human Services
  • Honorable Maryann Moreno, Spokane Superior Court
  • Lucy Berliner, Harborview Center for Sexual Assault/Traumatic Stress
  • Tim Manion, member of the public
  • Stevan Dozier, former offender


December 5, 2014, 3:30-5:30 p.m.

  • Location: Cherberg Building, Conference Room A,B,C. 304 15th Ave SW, Olympia, WA 98504 (map)

October 15, 2014, 2-4 p.m.

  • Location: Cherberg Building, Conference Room A,B,C. 304 15th Ave SW, Olympia, WA 98504 (map)

September 4, 2014, 2-4 p.m.

June 24th, 2014, 2-4 p.m.

About the Justice Reinvestment Initiative

The Justice Reinvestment Initiative, launched by the U.S. Department of Justice’s Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) in 2010, seeks to use a data-driven approach to improve public safety, examine corrections and related criminal justice spending, and reinvest savings in strategies that can hold offenders accountable, decrease crime, and strengthen neighborhoods around the nation.

The Council of State Governments (CSG) Justice Center, in partnership with The Pew Charitable Trusts and the BJA, will provide on-the-ground technical assistance to Washington’s Justice Reinvestment Task Force.


Sonja Hallum, Governor’s Senior Policy Advisor, Public Safety
(360) 902-0651