About the Board

The Board consists of five members appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate (RCW 9.94A.880(1). Members of the Board serve terms of four years or until their successors are appointed (RCW 9.94A.880(2)). Learn more about the Board bylaws (PDF).

In order to maintain the highest level of ethical standards and to protect the fairness of the proceeding, a board member will not discuss a petition pending before the Board, or a matter anticipated to be presented to the Board, with anyone outside of the quarterly hearings. Please do not contact a member of the Board about a petition.

Board members

James A. McDevitt: Chair. McDevitt is an attorney in Spokane, Washington. Member McDevitt is a former U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Washington and retired Brigadier General with the Washington Air National Guard. Member McDevitt was appointed to the Board in 2011.

Chief Raul Almeida: Vice Chair. Chief Almeida is captain of the Hanford Patrol, a consultant for the Washington State Traffic Safety Commission and Retired Chief of Police for the City of Mabton. Chief Almeida also works with the Office of Juvenile Justice out of Washington, D.C. He has been a member of the Board since 2000.

Evelyn P. Yenson: Member. Yenson is a third-generation South African Chinese American.  She earned her BA from the College of New Rochelle, NY, and an MA from the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee. Yenson was an urban planner in New York and Seattle. Her experience includes Director of the Vancouver EXPO 1986, Washington State Lottery, Department of Licensing, and Seattle Chinese Garden. She was also the Vice President of International Sales and Marketing for Scientific Games. Evelyn recently retired as the Interim Advancement Director for the Seattle Colleges. She was a member and Chair of the Washington State Ethics board. Currently, Yenson is on the board of HistoryLink.  Member Yenson was appointed to the Board in October 2015.

Rhonda SalvesenMember. Salvesen is a Washington State and Nationally Certified Court Reporter. She worked in King County Superior Court since 1996 as a court reporter in numerous criminal, civil and family law cases. She then worked as a bailiff for Justice Mary Yu and as her judicial assistant on the Washington State Supreme Court. Member Salvesen retired from King County in 2016 after working as a bailiff for Judge Elizabeth Berns, and is currently working in the airline industry where she is a shop steward for Local Lodge 1351 of IAM District 141. Member Salvesen was appointed to the Board November 2018.

Cheryl Angeletti-HarrisMember. Angeletti-Harris is an Attorney Advisor with the U.S. Department of Justice. She has worked in the equal employment opportunity and civil rights arena for 25 years.  She began her career as an attorney in the area of employment law and civil rights, and moved from there to lead the equal opportunity offices for a municipality and state university.  She is a graduate of UC Berkeley and UCLA School of Law.


For information about the Clemency and Pardons Board, or the clemency and pardons process, please contact:

Washington State Clemency and Pardons Board
Office of the Attorney General
P.O. Box 40116
Olympia, WA 98504
360- 586-0047

Telework Cell:  360-463-1128