Due to scheduled site maintenance, we will not be receiving contact requests, event invitations, meeting requests or webforms from Saturday, December 14th at 3 p.m. until Sunday, December 15th at 9 a.m. PST. 

<< back to boards list
Auto Theft Prevention Authority

Reviews and makes recommendations to the Legislature and the Governor regarding moto vehicle theft crimes in Washington and establishes, maintains, and supports programs that are designed to prevent motor vehicle theft. It was created by the Elizabeth Nowak-Washington Auto Theft Prevention Act enacted during the 2007 Regular Legislative Session, signed into law by Governor Gregoire. The Authority consists of 10 Governor appointees serving staggered terms. Representatives of law enforcement, prosecution, the auto industry, the insurance industry, the Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs and the private sector are included as members of the Authority. It is funded through a percentage of the surcharge of traffic infractions.