Joint statement by Inslee and Pacific Coast governors and mayors in response to EPA’s reconsideration of federal vehicle fuel-economy and emissions standards

March 15, 2017

Story 

“As the governors of Washington and Oregon, the mayors of Seattle, Portland, San Francisco, and Oakland, and representing a West Coast region of over 50 million people with a combined GDP of $2.8 trillion, we speak today in unified opposition to the federal withdrawal from the vehicle fuel efficiency standards that have worked for years to lower consumers’ fuel costs while making our air healthier to breathe.

“Our job as governors and mayors is to boost our region’s economic opportunities and to make our cities and states cleaner and healthier for our citizens. This decision does the exact opposite, making America more dependent on oil while putting more lives at risk from pollution and shortchanging consumers at the pump. 

“The U.S. is a technology superpower. Our strong vehicle fuel economy standards are a reflection of that and position the U.S. to remain competitive in the global push toward clean cars. Let’s not cede our leadership.”

Jointly signed by:

  • Oregon Governor Kate Brown
  • Washington Governor Jay Inslee
  • San Francisco Mayor Ed Lee
  • Oakland Mayor Libby Schaaf
  • Portland Mayor Ted Wheeler
  • Seattle Mayor Ed Murray

Media Contact 

 

Contact information for the signatories:

Oregon: Bryan Hockaday, bryan.hockaday@oregon.gov, 503-580-7836

Washington: Jaime Smith, Jaime.smith@gov.wa.gov, 360-902-4136

San Francisco: San Francisco Mayor’s Communications Office, mayorspressoffice@sfgov.org, 415-554-6131

Oakland: Erica Terry Derryck, ederryck@oaklandnet.com, 510-238-7072

Portland: Michael Cox, Michael.B.Cox@portlandoregon.gov, 503-823-6593

Seattle: Benton Strong, Benton.strong@seattle.gov, 206-684-8379

For general media inquiries, please contact Marla Wilson, Resource Media, marla@resource-media.org, 415-971-9038